Archive - pop

Limerick rower starts row on Mission Beach USA

14 October 2011 by musiclimerick, No Comments

Dylan Grace from Ennis Rd. features on RTÉ’s Mission Beach USA on Friday’s at 5.30pm.

TUNE into RTÉ Two this evening and every Friday at 5.30pm to see Limerick guy, Dylan Grace take the challenge to train for three weeks at the Fort Lauderdale Junior Lifeguard Programme and tackle, sun, sea and survival on the Florida coastline. The new series of Mission Beach USA starts this evening following the adventures of eight Irish 16 year olds as they train at America’s toughest lifeguard school. Dylan Grace is from Ennis Road in Limerick and is an enthusiastic rower, training at least four times a week. In Florida, Dylan’s talkative nature however gets him into trouble from the off. On day one, he does the most dangerous thing a junior lifeguard can do, talk back to coach Chris and this begins a rough road for Dylan on the course. Can he rise to coach Chris’s challenges or does he crack under the strain? Limerick viewers can tune into RTÉ Two on Fridays at 5.30pm to see how Dylan gets on.

Bell X1 on a ‘Sugar High’

8 March 2011 by musiclimerick, No Comments

FOLLOWING on from a well received acoustic performance in St. John’s Church last November the new single from Bell X1 is ‘Velcro’ now available from iTunes throughout most of Europe and Asia, The album ‘Bloodless Coup’ will be available in shops and digitally around the world beginning April 1. The band has made album track ‘Sugar High’ available on Soundcloud. Listen to it on Live dates for Bell X1 arranged so far are Vicar Street, Dublin April 6 and 7; Live At The Marquee, Cork on Friday, July 1.

Sugar High by Bell X1

Music to watch for in 2010

4 January 2010 by musiclimerick, 1 Comment

Last Days of Death Country
These emo/grunge rockers have in their short time together garnered a reputation for intense live shows. Their Fergal Lawler (Cranberries sticksman) produced E.P. “Mode and Effect” is due for release in the Spring and features the tracks “Venom” and “Words” which you can check out on myspace

Windings, Steve Ryan’s side project while he rocked with the late and great Givamanakick now takes centre-stage this year . The line-up has now swelled to a full 4-piece band. Their new album, recorded by Tommy McLaughlin-(Villagers, giveamanakick, Cathy Davey) is ready and due for release. Windings are playing in Dolans with Ambience Affair and Puzzle Muteson on January 20th

Supermodel Twins
This 4-piece make power pop with melody and harmony. Their debut album produced by “The Cranberries” guitarist and songwriter, Noel Hogan is ready for release with the track “Bruises” slated to be the lead single. myspace

We Should Be Dead
Based in LA for most of last year WSBD have toured and toured some more to establish a US profile for the release of their, as yet untitled, second album which was produced in California by Owen Lewis ( R.E.M, Snow Patrol, The Game, Courtney, Killers, Lady Gaga). “Where Do We Stand”, “Electric”, “Breathe In” and “Up All Night” are all songs that have potential to be hit singles. The band have even impressed a hip hop legend… “That’s some top 40 shit right there” – The Game, October 2009. Here is a gem from their debut record filmed by Shane Serrano.

Alicia Keys concert live streamed on You Tube

5 December 2009 by musiclimerick, No Comments

Following on from her recent stand-out performance among the wannabes and has-beens of the X-Factor, Alicia Keys played New York’s Nokia Theatre as part of World AIDS Day which was live-streamed on You Tube and still available to watch now. Check out her performance of Empire State with special guest Jay-Z here. Keys plays the O2 Dublin on May 21st 2010, Tickets €44.20 – €76.25 and her album The Element of Freedom is released on the 15th of Dec

The Cranberries tour starts

15 November 2009 by musiclimerick, No Comments

cranberries tour

The Cranberries reunion kicked off in the US last Friday (12th Nov) in Baltimore with a 2000 capacity sold-out show. Guitarist, Noel Hogan commented afterwards “1st show went amazing last night, it was great to play the old tracks again”. The set comprised of Cranberries classics and some material from Dolores O’Riordan’s solo work. Here is the setlist
01.- How
02.- Animal Instinct
03.- Linger
04.- Ordinary Day
05.- Wanted
06.- Just My Imagination
07.- Dreaming My Dreams
08.- When You’re Gone
09.- Daffodil Lament
10.- I Can’t Be With You
11.- Ode To My Family
12.- Free To Decide
13.- Waltzing Back
14.- Switch Off The Moment
15.- Salvation
16.- Ridiculous Thoughts
17.- Zombie

18.- Lunatic
19.- Empty
20.- The Journey
21.- Dreams